We are open for Express Pickup and Information services only at this time. Please check our FAQ page for more information. Our branches will be open for limited walk-in services beginning Monday, September 21 at 10 AM. Reopening information.

Construction of Exploration Commons at 50 East will begin August 3rd at the Westminster Branch. Please visit the Exploration Commons update page for information regarding the project and how to access the Westminster Branch for the next few months.

Lightbulb logo
Directory of Community Services
A service of Carroll County Public Library

Organization Full Listing print

United States Government, Legislative Branch, Senate
The Capitol
Washington, DC 20510

202-224-3121 - voice

Contact 1Michael R. Pence (R, IN)
Senate President (U.S. VP)
202-224-3121 - voice
Contact 2Senator Orrin Hatch
President Pro Tempore
(202) 224-5251 - voice
(202) 224-6331- fax
PurposeTo have equal responsibility with the House of Representatives for declaring war, maintaining the armed forces, assessing taxes, borrowing money, minting currency, regulating commerce, and making all laws necessary for the operation of the government and have exclusive authority to advise and consent on treaties and nominations.
ServiceThe Senate is composed of 100 members, two from each state. There are three classes of senators, and a new class is elected every two years. Senators are elected by the people to serve six year terms. Terms begin and end in January after the November election. MARYLAND SENATORS: 1. Benjamin L. Cardin (D, 1/13-1/19), 509 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510, 202-224-4524 or 202-224-1651 (fax); or 100 South Charles Street, Tower 1, Suite 1710, Baltimore, MD 21201, 410-962-4436 or 410-962-4156 (fax). Senator Cardin's Internet site is cardin.senate.gov, and email may be sent through this site. Senator Cardin also has offices in Bowie, Rockville, Salisbury, southern Maryland, and Cumberland. 2. Chris Van Hollen (D, 1/17-1/23), B40C Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, DC 20510, 202-224-4654. Senator Van Hollen's Internet site is www.vanhollen.senate.gov, and email may be sent through this site.
Last Updated20 January 2017