We are open for Express Pickup and Information services only at this time. Please check our FAQ page for more information. Our branches will be open for limited walk-in services beginning Monday, September 21 at 10 AM. Reopening information.

Construction of Exploration Commons at 50 East will begin August 3rd at the Westminster Branch. Please visit the Exploration Commons update page for information regarding the project and how to access the Westminster Branch for the next few months.

Lightbulb logo
Directory of Community Services
A service of Carroll County Public Library

Organization Full Listing print

United States Government, Judiciary Branch
Supreme Court Building
1 First Street NE
Washington, DC 20543-0002

202-479-3000 - voice
202-479-3472 - TTY/TDD

PurposeTo act as the highest tribunal in the nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution or the laws of the United States.
ServiceThe Supreme Court is made up of the Chief Justice of the United States and eight Associate Justices. The court term begins, by law, the first Monday in October of each year and continues as long as business before the court requires, usually until the end of June. JUSTICES OF THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT (listed by seniority) are: John G. Roberts, Jr., the Chief Justice; Anthony M. Kennedy, Associate Justice; Clarence Thomas, Associate Justice; Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Associate Justice; Stephen G. Breyer, Associate Justice; Samuel A. Alito, Jr., Associate Justice; Sonia Sotomayor, Associate Justice; Elena Kagan, Associate Justice; and Neil M. Gorsuch, Associate Justice. The clerk of the court is Scott Harris.
Last Updated26 April 2017